Skip to content

I Found One…

May 13, 2009

Since October of 2006 I have come across more than my fair share of doctors.

Most of them have been absolutely wonderful.  In fact I hadn’t ever chosen a bad doctor so my experiences were good overall.

Moving here though, with an MTF (military treatment facility) making it impossible for me to technically choose my own doctor I have come across doctor’s I would never willingly choose.  The first doctor I was assigned to neglected me for a year.  I had to have an emergency for them to give me an appointment with a different doctor and even then it was only supposed to be for that one appointment. To prove just how uncaring that first doctor was- he passed me in the emergency room and didn’t even realize that I was his patient.

There was no way I was going to go back to him!  I loved her and so from that point on I just made all of my appointments as follow-ups.  I guess Tri-care caught on and sent me a letter telling me that I had been re-assigned.  For the last year, Dr.D has been absolutely amazing.  She knows me and she keeps up with all of my referrals and asks me to make appointments just so that we can make sure we are on the same page as far as progress, procedures, and results go.  She got me into Internal Medicine so that I could get my Fibro under control.  She got me into Neurology so that we could find out why I was having tremors. She got me into Cardiology to figure out why I am tachycardic.  She got me into Physical Medicine/Acu so that I can be fully functional. She was able to get me to GYN for fertility testing and basic help.

With everything going on she was/is concerned that there may be a metabolic issue.  Something with hormones so she got me into endocrinology.

And I finally met one.  I finally met the biggest ASS of a doctor.

He basically tells me that my thyroid is fine and there isn’t anything he can do.  I know that there is a reason for my crazy cycle and my non response to meds.  I know that something could be going on with my ovaries- which produce hormones as well- which is his supposed specialization.  And if there was nothing he could do then why did he call me in on the first day I didn’t have an appointment? With a day like yesterday I just needed a day of chillin out but I figure if they are callin askin for me to come in that there is a good reason for it.  I sat in the waiting room and watched him yak it up with other doctors.

He made me feel stupid for even being there.

He didn’t even read my chart.  I know that because he sat there and stared at me like I had grown another head when I made a comment about what I know to be in my chart.  He asked me why I was there— uhhh duh there would only be one reason for me to be there. I wasn’t there because I like making appointments in random departments of the hospital! A major concern is my rather abrupt gaining of about 20lbs.  Another would be that I gained weight to spite the fact that I don’t feel hungry.  I can go a full day without realizing that I haven’t eaten anything.  My heartrate is out of control. I am obviously having fertility issues.

Would you believe the man said that it was because of my weight gain!  Last time I checked 20 lbs didn’t render a female infertile or cause increased heartrate.  If so there would be a lot less children in this world that is for dang sure.  When I expressed this opinion he looked at me like I didn’t know what I was talking about.

So then he says that I’d have to stop taking my meds if I wanted to lose the weight and get my appitite back (which used to be really healthy by the way).  I was off only ONE of my meds last week and couldn’t even function by day 7 off- how am I supposed to stop taking them all?  Doesn’t he think I need those? Perhaps he feels as though I just pick and choose meds like I would if I were in the candy store.

So I told him about last week and he says to me that I shouldn’t even be trying to get pregnant because I won’t “give up” the meds I’m on.

UGHHHH!

I can’t even keep typing. I don’t even think that what I have written makes much coherent sense.

It is just one more nail in the coffin of the dream of children.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

