Skip to content

It’s Difficult but Not Impossible

January 26, 2009

One of “the Four musketeers” (meaning the female half of my closest circle of friends) called me yesterday to see what I would be doing in September.

Naturally, being military and all, I told her nothing is planned but that doesn’t really mean anything.

My friend K is pregnant. She is five weeks as of yesterday. She wants to know if I’ll spend the last couple of weeks of her pregnancy with her and then a couple after- to help her get settled and all that. She is one of my best friends and there is absolutely NOTHING that I can control(and that includes my poor self-image) will keep me from being there for her.

She is really the only one that knows about our Infertility issues because I had to share with her when she suffered her first miscarriage. She felt so alone and I was the only one out of eight (if you include the guys) she turned toward for comfort. I couldn’t let my own insecurity prevent me from being a friend. I’m praying for her- that this pregnancy sticks because she has had enough heartbreak.

Its difficult- ya know? To look beyond something that is so personal to me and be there for her completely: Its not impossible.

I just have to remind myself of that…as often as it need be

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 7:57 pm

    I agree sweetie. It is difficult, but not impossible. Hang in there. For me, it’s always better once it becomes about the baby. But it never is completely gone. You’re a good friend.
    xo

  2. January 30, 2009 11:10 am

    It is difficult. It’s so hard. I hope you’re able to keep your chin up … and even more so, I hope that at somepoint you switch over from wanting to be happy for her to actually being happy for her … which really is difficult (I’m not saying I’m good at … I always just wish that for myself).

  3. January 30, 2009 6:01 pm

    You are an amazing woman.

Leave a Reply

