Skip to content

Scrumbles

January 25, 2008

Ok… what the heck is that you may ask?

Well I am not entirely sure myself, but from what I have read its a form of free-form crochet that is joined to make— *something*.

To give myself something to do I’ve joined a tiny ring on Ravelry lead by Maven and we’ve started a scrumble ring.  Silly me forgot to take a picture of my scrumble before I stuck it in the mailbox this morning….but I promise I’ll take pictures of everyone elses before I send them on as well as my little scrumble that should be all grown by the time it gets back to me in about five to six weeks.

Basically, we add on whatever yarn/pattern to someone elses to make whatever comes out of it. 

Anyway,  I am also workin on that blanket.  Its crochet because thats all I really know how to do.  I can’t knit…I am not bi-crafty in that sense even though I know how to sew and cross-stitch as well.  I’ve been reading on Ravelry about spinning and that looks like it could be fun to learn…but first I want to learn the needle craft!!!  It does seem slower than crochet but I am guessin that is because I am really good at crochet and know nothing of needles.  Maybe the better you get the faster it goes?  I dunno.

Anyway, I was asked where I got my Bernat Soy yarn.  I had to go online to buy it cause 1) the car is 25 minutes away during most of the day so I can’t go anywhere and 2)I have never seen more than the baby yarn from Bernat in any store we’ve been to here (Hobby Lobby and Michaels— I should probably check JoAnn’s but thats right next to the book store sooooo it would definatly have to be a “we’ve got some extra cash” trip).   So anyway, I went to Bernat’s site and they directed me to Mary Maxim U.S.

Anyway–for now that is enough on my Hooker* Yarnie self. 

 Ohh …and on things I want to learn…I forgot about Tunisian (or Afghan) Crochet!!!

*”Hooker” in terms that I am not a knitter–for the hook used in Crochet.  However, simple use of this word should bring some interesting hits from our friend “google”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2008 7:20 pm

    Thanks for the answer! I don’t think I’ve seen that particular yarn at Joann’s either, but they DO have a wide range of Bernat yarn, along with a lot of natural type stuff. The bamboo yarn is to die for. It’s sooooo silky, shiny and soft.

    The scrumbles sounds cool! Can’t wait to see a photo! I learned how to crochet a chain a long long time ago, but don’t remember. I bought a crochet book to help because I think it would be nice to know both knit and crochet. There’s just something about knit patterns and the use of the two needles that makes me so happy. I don’t know why. Strange huh?

  2. etrish permalink
    January 28, 2008 10:49 am

    Welcome to therapeutic yarn-crafting!

    Hey, I’ve tagged you over on my site!

    Trish
    etrish.wordpress.com

  3. January 29, 2008 10:53 am

    Whoops, I stand corrected! I guess you crochet…not knit!

    My grandma taught me to crochet when I was little but I haven’t done it in years! I have about 5 huge blankets from her still!

    What a great gift for your friend. You should show picks as you go!

Leave a Reply

