Skip to content

The Thai Woman

December 28, 2007

Ok so a few days ago (or maybe it was a week) I wrote out a list of things to write about.  This wont’ be as long as I thought it would be since it has been awhile since my encounter with this lady.

Hubby is all about the Asian food..which is fine with me.  I was sick so I really just wanted some good soup (actually I wanted Pho) and Hubby says he found this great Thai place by the post–and they had good soup.  So we go and its an out of the way place but very cozy.  The woman though….small and cute is the way to discribe her.

She thought at first that my husband was Thai (he is Filipino) but was very chatty once she switched to English!  She was very funny.

Like when I ordered my soup I asked that no mushrooms would be in it—and got a nice little lecture (for lack of a better word) about how it helps to prevent cancer.  Then she asked if I was sick and I told her my throat was a bit scratchy.  She made me a “tea” (again–lack of a better word) of sugar, lime, hot water and I think a dash of salt. 

She told us all about living in Thailand—how her father was a doctor and how he would travel accross boarders (to Burma and Cambodia) and deal with the poor as late as it would take to get through the line.  How he would go in the middle of the night to the rich because of discretion issues.  About her troubles with some not so great Americans when she came to the States and how she ended up here in El Paso.  It was a great story and really inspiring.  She has such a great spirit about her.
She told us about some of the children in Thailand that her father would visit and it broke our hearts.  It has opened our eyes to the country in terms of adoption…

so thats another country to research–you know… in case things don’t go so well in Guatemala

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2007 11:03 am

    It’s pretty interesting how we don’t think of other countries as being able to adopt. Hubby & I are both Filipino (wow! Another thing we have in common!) and have though about adopting from the Philippines, but the wait seems atrocious … especially if we’re looking to adopting an infant.

    Anyway, I enjoyed this post … and I like your new theme!!

  2. December 31, 2007 8:49 am

    My hubby is Filipino too! I don’t know how she mixed up Thai with Filipino though. They look so different to me. 🙂

    Anyway, we’d love to adopt from the Philippines, but agree with Emily’s comment. It seems a bit crazy to adopt from there. Fun story!

Leave a Reply

