Skip to content

Writers Block Musings on Thanksgiving

November 21, 2007

I think I am suffering from writers block today.  I keep starting topics and deciding against them so I delete (the equvilent of crumpling up the sheet of paper).

 I am thinking of Thanksgiving now…and what a great holiday it is!!  Its always been my favorite holiday because of the great food!  Not to mention my birthday is always Thanksgiving week and when I was younger I used to think that everyone was eating this great meal because of me (yeah, my family lied to me — and I believed them because how could I not–everyone always showed up for dinner and we always had my birthday cake on Thanksgiving day).

I spent most of my childhood split between my Grandmother and my dad for various reasons (mostly to do with school and moving).  Anyway, we always watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.  Our Christmas decoration kick-off was marked by “Santa coming to town”.  The first time we actually got to go to the parade was such a great memory.  I went with my Grandmother and her sister and my cousins.  The balloons back then were much larger than they are now and it was my first live introduction to marching bands (and in High School I got to be in the marching band during a different Thanksgiving Parade).  After that we went to McDonalds (a treat for us then) and got to drink Hot Cocoa while the grown-ups drank their coffee to get warm. 

For my 18th birthday- my only request was to go back to that parade and it still had me in wonder.  The kids croweded in the front  and lining the streets–cheering and pointing at their favorite characters, singing with their favorite artists as they went by on their floats, making new friends with the other children that are there.  When it was over…we went to the same McDonalds and even though I am definately a coffee drinker now,  I ordered the hot cocoa and my grandma go the coffee.  Of course, then we went shopping 😀

Last year was the first year that I didn’t spend Thanksgiving with my blood family (with the exception of Grandma of course who came down to Georgia to spend it with me) but instead with my chosen family: My best friend, her sister, and their two kids.  We had alot of fun then as well.  It was My Little Man’s first Thanksgiving so it was definately interesting to see him experiment with all the food.

This year will be the first we spend by ourselves.  It should prove to be intersting since I have no idea how to cook for two people only.  I am glad though that it turned out this way because now I don’t have to worry about dealing with ohter peoples pregnancy, people asking us why we don’t have kids yet, etc etc

Well… I guess that is it for now… I have to get back to working on my MIL’s Christmas present.  Its going well…so I think I should be finished in about a week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2007 7:59 pm

    I actually find cooking for 2 kinda fun and more relaxing. If it goes badly who cares?! haha. Also, it’s so much LESS to cook and do and so much MORE leftovers. 😉

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 26, 2007 11:07 am

    We had a small Thanksgiving this year too – not in food but in numbers of people – just my dad, my sis, her kids, my bro and his gf and me and DH. And I cooked too much food – again!

Leave a Reply

