Skip to content

A Guest Poster in the Great Cross-Pollination Blog

November 9, 2007

It’s the Great Blog Cross-Pollination day spearheaded by Geohde of Mission Impossible Infertile! Participating bloggers have swapped posts with another blog owner allowing you, the reader, to get a richer cross-section of perspectives. Guess who I am in the comments section below. When you’re done guessing, click on THIS link to see the regular post by this blogger. Without further ado, I bring you guest blog entry:

Nine Months, Three Days

I opened my blog statistics page and BAM – a one-two punch to the head. Nine months, three days. Who knew numbers could land such a knockout? If only the numbers added up to something suggesting baby booties!

Nope, they only signify how long I’ve been blogging. Still reeling I tried to imagine what it would have been like instead to be successfully completing a pregnancy term. (What is with the one-track mind of an infertile anyway!?)

Nine months, three days. How would I have spent them if I’d had a bun in the oven? Oh, just made it worse! I g.oogled “a bun in the oven and similar expressions” and got directed here (warning: lethal site). ARRRRGGHHHhhhh. As if I needed to be reminded of all the cute and clever ways to plan an announcement I’ll never make!

Okay. Deep breaths. If I had been “eating for two” or “knocked up” or whatever other pregnancy euphemism you can conjure up, right now I’d be anxiously awaiting labor pains, wondering about how I’d handle breast feeding and likely looking forward to sleeping on my stomach again.

Or I’d be practicing aloud different name combinations to see how they’d sound. (I’m old school, by the way, no naming a child after cities, states, last names as first silliness!) Girl names would have been Elizabeth Anne, or Stella (for my grandmother) or Samantha Jane. Boy names Michael Alexander, Thomas Robert…okay, I’m going to stop right here. No use torturing myself further.

Nine months, three days. They’re just numbers after all, but oh what power they have to fuel elusive dreams…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. geohde permalink
    November 9, 2007 2:12 am

    Dear Mystery Blogger,

    G.oogle is evil, trust me on this.

    Nine months is like a red rag to the bull of the average infertile mind. You are not alone,

    J

  2. November 9, 2007 3:58 am

    Isn’t it a shock every time you realise you’ve just spent another nine month chunk of life not being pregnant? Thanks for hosting this guest-blogger, Dayzofrain.

    Bea

  3. November 9, 2007 9:19 am

    Well, I wouldn’t have guessed this one if I hadn’t clicked over from her blog.

    I hadn’t read back far enough in your archives to know that 9 mos and 3 days had passed.

    I’m curious what the lethal link was…it somehow didn’t make the transfer.

  4. November 9, 2007 10:21 am

    I can’t think about that stuff.

    Just like I don’t think about estimated due dates, or mourne what would have been due dates. I don’t remember the date of my first ER, or my second, either for that matter. I don’t know, and I think I’m happier for it.

  5. November 12, 2007 7:36 am

    Can I just tell you how much I love the name Samanatha Jane? I have loved it since I was a kid and named several of my dolls that. Although I know we won’t be naming our daughter (in the event we ever get one) that, there is part of me that will always be wistful for that name.

  6. Idetrorce permalink
    December 15, 2007 6:35 am

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

