Skip to content

Ahhh– Thank God for November (and other random musings)

November 1, 2007

This is my month!  Im glad its here even though in reality it won’t be as busy as it normally is.

 Yes, there is Thanksgiving and Football and TURKEY (YUMMM).

There is also my birthday, our anniversary, my brothers birthday, cousin’s birthday (x’s 2), and Friend’s birthdays (x4).  Every week this month I have someone to congradulate, call, and gift.  I also have a few friends due to have their babies this month so hopefully I can get through that gracefully.  I can’t really see how I wouldn’t be able to seeing as the only way to be really poor-spirited about it would be to verbally abuse them on the phone- which I am not about to do.

I should keep fairly busy with blankies and cleaning this house.  Hubby told me yesterday that he would like to invite friends over for football parties.  Not that I have a huge problem with that because I don’t. I do, however, have a huge problem with him not helping me around the house.  All I really ask is that he clean those dang toilets (and all you lades know exactly why that is) which he doesn’t do.  Besides that request I ask that he please just pick up after himself.  If he uses a cup-put it in the sink (not by the sink-a couple inches isn’t that much harder), if you empty a box put it in the trash can (as opposed to leaving it on top of the counter directly above the opening of the trash can-as I am lookin at that right at this moment), finish a bottle of water throw it away. 

Is it REALLY that hard? 

So he’s been served his notice.  No people in this house until he can help me keep it clean rather then going behind me after I clean it and making it just as bad as it was before.

:::

Hey, I am gonna get a slow-cooker in a couple days! Maybe even tomorrow!  I have to work the budget first to make sure that it will be fine but I am rather excited about it.  I got this AWESOME recipe for Apple butter that I am just dying to try.  Not to mention it is the season of soups, stews and chowders!  There is this pumpkin soup with sausage recipe that I would love to try as well along with taco soup (which is always good with a good spoonful of sour cream and tortilla chips).

I also got this recipe for apple bread and pumpkin bread that I am wanting to try out.  Hubby’s co-workers better have some appitite over the next couple months.

::

I started reading this book on being a housewife for God (Im a Christian by the way) and I read in the review that they had some encouraging scripture references.  So I thought that it would help me on my journey of faith- which can certainly never hurt.  Yeah I got through the intro and two pages of the first chapter and couldn’t continue.  It was mainly focused on the application for families with children.  Since we all know that isn’t us I couldn’t continue reading.  The senario of the unhappy mother and her five kids totally turned me off to continue reading.   Somehow I don’t think (at this point anyway) that women with a total of 15 children between the two of them (one has eight the other 7) is gonna be able to relate to me how I can live passionately in my faith in my role in the home and relate to my husband while dealing with infertility.    I think I may be able to get back to this in the future- when I have fully come to terms with issues- and glean the relevant infromation while by-passing the stories of motherly frustration.   Not today though. 

::

Lately it seems as though I am finally being able to go back to those books I picked up earlier in life and just wasn’t able to get through then.  Like “The Historian”.  When I first picked up the book to buy it– it seemed so interesting that I just had to get it.  That and the author was a new one on the scene so I wanted to give that support.  When I started reading it though- I just couldn’t get through all the backstory.  I just finished it last week and it was really good.  Now I just have to get through my copy Ayn Rand’s “Atlas Shrugged”. 

I think this is the end of this post–because I have to get some things done.

Talk to you later friends!!

OHHH but before you go: Could you help me for a second?

I need a creative address to you -The Reader- and one for Hubby.

Got any ideas?  Get back to me on that 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. geohde permalink
    November 1, 2007 9:52 pm

    McGrot? Wait, that’s what I call MY husband 🙂

    J

  2. November 2, 2007 7:09 am

    Once a week I have to go reclaim about 1/8 of the dishes from the living room end table where DH leaves them. While I understand that it IS a PIA for him to carry them into the kitchen since he’s on crutches, the fact of the matter is that he didn’t have any problems getting them into the living room… It’s all about priorities. Filthy man!

  3. meridian permalink
    November 2, 2007 7:57 am

    Wow, I thought my brother in law was the only one who would leave the garbage on the counter right by the trash can! It drives my sister insane.

  4. November 18, 2007 7:14 pm

    This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

Leave a Reply

