Skip to content

New, Work, Pets and Dishes

October 29, 2007
tags: , , ,

For those of you who notice… do you like my new layout? 

What was wrong with the other one?  Well, I figured that my posts are getting longer on average and to be quite honest the font is kinda on the small side so I changed it.  I like the color too.  I am now thinking that I should have take a screen shot for memories–I always think of these things too late.

It is now 6:54 in the morning.  The sun is starting to work its way into the sky and I wish I wasn’t up, but I had to bring hubby into work today so I could run some errands this afternoon.  I have to pick up the dogs supply of meds (just the heartguard and flea protection), get the oil changed and do some grocery shopping.  The key is to time is just right so that I am done with the groceries at 1800 (that would be 6 PM for those of you who don’t know) so that I can pick up Hubby from work with out my frozen goods going all soggy on me. 

 Geez, this is exactly the reason why I don’t have a job (that and I am not bilingual–which is practically a requirement being right on the boarder of Mexico.  They’ll always choose the bilingual over the mono-lingual).  Anyway, even if I did have a part time job I would need to wake up at 0400 to bring in Hubby for PT (Physical Training), then come home and let the dogs out so they can get some outside time before going in their kennels, then go to work, then go to the base to pick up Hubby around 1800, then come home and do all of the things I would have gotten done during the day sometime before 2100 so I could get a decent amount of sleep so I could do it all over again in the morning. Add to that the fluidity of his schedule (read: un-freakin-predictable) and transportation seriously becomes an issue. UGH, I can’t do that. I could if I needed to but I don’t need to and I am certainly not one of those women who love to work. 

NOTE: I was so desperate for meeting new people that I actually tried for a job a few months ago but because of afore mentioned reason–it didn’t happen

Honestly, I can’t stand working and am so glad that I don’t have to.  I don’t like answering to other people for my time management or asking for time off that will “hopefull” co-inside with whenever Hubby can get leave.  Or those days when he gets to come home early unexpectedly or the days he might get off after a particular successful week.  Kudo’s to all you ladies who work day in and out on top of taking care of your home and family!  I don’t envy you but I do respect the juggling that you do.  For those who not only work, but have a career in a field you love– extra kudo’s.  There isn’t anything I love doing enough to do day in and out.

Did I mention that I love my dogs? (WHOA, left turn, hang on!)  I do and I guess part of it is the whole infertile thing.  I need something to take care of.  I read somewhere that before you try to have kids you should get a pet and if it is still alive at the end of a year- then to go for it.  I don’t particularly subscribe to that very interesting point but I do think of it occationally.  We got Skye the same day that Hubby left for a training exercise in Egypt for the summer.  Part of the decision was that I needed some company and another was that it was our seventh month of trying and failing.  Hubby knew I had wanted a dog and she was my consolation prize (so to speak) for both him leaving and our failing.  He got back that August and in September we got notice from the breeder that the second dog had her litter so from that day I had chosen our Blade.  Skye needed a buddy since she was so used to having me all to herself.  That and I knew that I wanted them to be tight so having them close in age would be best so they could grow up together. 

Does this sound a little bit like family planning?  Yeah well I call it alternate family planning.

Another thing I took into consideration was that I wanted them to be as well trained as possible before the fictional children arrived- because you know that at that point I was still optimistic that 06 would be our year since O5 was a bust.  So the doggies have been there for me as my comfort over three deployment rotations, and just about three years of the trying to concieve journey.  They keep me company during the day while Hubby is at work and are rather entertaining.  For example, on Saturday (you know– cleaning spree day) I had finished the guest bathroom.  Well apparently Skye had her felt toy (it used to be a braid but now it is three separate but connected strands of felt) half way in the bathroom and when I closed the door the knotted end was still in there.  I came out of the garage to find her fighting with the door to get her toy back.  I just laughed and laughed and she looked at me with her blue eye’s (shes a sassy one by the way, a little bit crazy and very expressive) and seemed to be thinking: What the heck are you laughin at?  Right now she is laying next to me here on the couch, with her head on the pillow sleepin.   Its kind of early for her too.  In a couple of hours she’ll be up and running around like tomorrow is the end of the world.

Anyway, I am off to put up the dishes and clean the ones that are in the sink so I don’t have to worry about it anymore.

TTFN, Elusive Reader.  Til we meet again (if you chose to brave the most random musings of an infertile in transition)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. meridian permalink
    October 29, 2007 7:35 am

    Hi, I found your blog through the Life tag! Just stopping by to say hello. I’ve also just started TTC and will be bookmarking your blog to read about your stories.

  2. October 29, 2007 2:46 pm

    I LOVE the new layout!!!

  3. geohde permalink
    October 29, 2007 9:42 pm

    Snazzy layout, I almost thought I had the wrong blog for a minute, I was expecting the other look 🙂

    J

  4. October 30, 2007 8:40 pm

    I love the layout! Sorry it’s taken me so long to catch on to your blog! I’m a bit bleary sometimes.

Leave a Reply

